3 and a half weeks to go

Hey friends!

I am sorry for the sparse posting over the past 2 months. They have flown by and with Jacob here I don’t find myself looking for things to distract me nearly as often as before! In addition to Jacob joining me in Switzerland, half our family has come to visit us, and most of the rest are coming soon! It has been a whirlwind. In a good way.

I am coming to the end of my internship at WHO and feeling all those mixed emotions you get when something really great is starting to end. This experience has really changed me and of course I wish I could stay longer, and at the same time I am looking forward to coming home and being close to friends and family again. I just can’t believe I only have 3 and a half weeks left to enjoy Geneva, I’m already trying to soak in and appreciate every little thing. The knowledge of upcoming change deeply affects my attitude.

Jacob and I have enjoyed some incredible adventures, most of them involving family coming to visit! And we still have a lot planned. But to catch you up on our latest journeys…

I got to reunite with babysis for a whole week! But I wish it could have been longer. I miss her so much!

IMG_20160714_200346783_HDR

It was so hard to go to work each day and say goodbye, but I knew she was in good hands with Jacob. And the weekend camping in Grindelwald was AMAZING!

IMG_20160717_102822594
A view of Claire’s forehead… and Eiger.

I felt bad I didn’t prepare her better for the intensive hiking we had planned… but she was such a trooper, killed it in those chacs!

Naturally, we rewarded ourselves with ice cream from all the cows we walked by.

 

Jacob and I took advantage of my long weekend for Swiss National Day to head to Italy! Cinque Terre was just as beautiful as I remembered it, but MUCH more crowded. We had an amazing time, it was the perfect weekend getaway.

 

Jacob loved the hiking and getting to know all the towns, we got to enjoy a different food in each one…

IMG_20160730_194735122
The view from our window at sunset
IMG_20160730_194801932_HDR
Our view facing the Vernazza town square
IMG_20160801_094305632
Soaking up the sun and our last look at the Sea before leaving

After Italy, our next adventure was going to Gruyeres and Broc with Amanda, a fellow intern. This trip had been recommended by many people. Now we know why!  we got to visit the cheese factory and the chocolate factory in one day! They are so conveniently located it’s suspicious. Needless to say we are pretty into Gruyere cheese now.

After eating our way through the factory tours and some pretty amazing fondue in surprisingly short time, we decided to take a little drive into the nearby national park, which offered some incredible views.

At the pass, we found a zipline. It should come as no surprise that Jacob was the first to try it out.

IMG_20160806_174001410
This guy.

After discovering our love for Swiss made cheese and the questionable advertising techniques of Nestle, our next adventure was a visit from my lovely parents!

 

IMG_20160816_180950970
Aren’t they the cutest?

Once again I found it tough to go to work each day, but they had some great adventures with tour guide Jacob, and I’m so thankful my husband gets along with his in-laws so well.

IMG_20160817_175523796
They took a little trip across the lake to Yvoire on this bad boy
IMG_20160816_185359905
Visiting the botanical gardens
IMG_20160820_144431691_HDR
I think all the walking got to them after a while… we walked them silly.
IMG_20160820_144811255
The local vineyard thief

We also took them to Montreux and Annecy, but I only have the pictures from my phone right now and those were apparently camera-only trips. We had a great time with them and it was hard to say goodbye. It makes me look forward to being home that much more!

It’s been an amazing adventure so far, and there’s more to come!

One thought on “3 and a half weeks to go

  1. Natalie & Jacob, we had a super time, and loved every minute! It was magnifique! Thank you for showing us around Switzerland and a little bit of France. We love you guys, can’t wait to see you again!
    Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

