Yvoire and Lyon

I can’t believe I have been here for SIX WEEKS! Time is flying, but it also feels like a long time ago that I said goodbye to everyone, and the week between today and Jacob’s arrival can’t go fast enough.

A few weeks ago, Lauren and Holly came to see me, and it was exactly what I needed after a rough week, they lifted my spirits and blessed me with laughter and fun. I’m so glad I got to spend some quality time with familiar faces.

It was a joy to show these old friends around Geneva, it made me feel like I knew what I was doing (kind of). We went for a long walk to the Rhone and to Montfleury, and the next day took a free walking tour of the old town area (I highly recommend the free city walking tours here!) and got soaked in the rain, then rushed back to their hostel to warm up and dry off before heading out again.

On Sunday, we took a little boat cruise to Nyon and Yvoire, two small towns just across the lake. We only spent a few minutes walking around Nyon because we didn’t want to miss the boat, but it was a sweet little place!

IMG_20160612_114711385
My only picture of Nyon… Why didn’t I do better than this?

 

Yvoire was absolutely amazing, I’ve never seen any place like it. It is a hidden treasure of this area. It’s a medieval town, which means it looks like it has been there forever, because it has. I could have taken a picture of every corner and every storefront. In true French fashion, a joyful, elderly man was playing an ‘orgue a manivelle’ (crank organ) in the midst of an outdoor book market. As we left, he was cranking out “Aux Champs Elysees,” a French classic. I think he really liked Holly 🙂 . It felt like a truly authentic French experience, and I am so glad I got to share it with such dear friends! We picnicked, stopped for excellent coffee and ice cream and wandered around this beautiful town until it was time to re-board the boat. Twas a grand time. I was sad to say goodbye on Sunday night when they headed out for Rome.

 

The following weekend, I went to Lyon with some fellow interns and we had a blast. I stayed in my first airbnb, and had a great experience. Also enjoyed some pretty dang delicious pastries and Eric Kayser bakery. I recommend it to anyone heading to Lyon. We only had one night and two half-days, so we made the best of our time by visiting the Roman ruins and Notre Dame cathedral on Saturday, followed by dinner out and spectating the football spectators (especially the celebrating Albania fans) enjoying the festivities. The Eurocup is in full swing, and Lyon is one city where matches are hosted, so the fans are lively, to say the least. You can’t miss the fan zone.

IMG_20160618_152944214
Lyon from the river
IMG_20160618_161645524_HDR
Lyon from the top of the hill

IMG_20160618_161657702

IMG_20160618_163755993
Roman Amphitheatre

 

IMG_20160618_165052246
Notre Dame (Lyon)

IMG_20160618_172805404IMG_20160618_173622275

On Sunday, we walked through the farmer’s market along the river, and then headed to the Musee Des Beaux Arts, where there was a special exhibit on self-portraits, including some travelling Rembrandt’s. Then we got back on the bus for a scenic trip back to Geneva.

IMG_20160619_141511026_HDR
Musee Des Beaux Arts

Those are my major recent travels! As for work, I don’t have any pictures, but I’m enjoying all my projects and I’m learning a lot about health policy, especially in the realm of breastfeeding. All my projects have been interesting and I have enough variety to keep me busy and engaged. It’s been fun meeting interns from all over the world! I’ve never been around so much diversity, I love it. So many nationalities, personalities, passions, and talents. And what a time to be living here… the Brexit has been the talk of the town and I get to hear the opinions and reactions of people from literally every corner of the world on it.

Jacob arrives one week from today, I can’t wait! Soon we’ll be adventuring all over Europe. I’m already plotting trips. I hear London’s cheap right now…

Till next time!

2 thoughts on “Yvoire and Lyon

  1. You three Amigos look so cute, traveling all over…. 😉 It is AWESOME that they came to see you! Love the little penguins on the wall, and all the other scenery, its so beautiful. I can’t believe it’s been six weeks, either! Love you, sweet girl!

    Like

  2. Pictures are fantastic–I get excited just looking at them. I am sooo happy you’re getting this experience. It is truly a blessing. Know you’ll be ecstatic when your other half arrives-ha. It will make everything even more special. I know what you mean about the Brexit deal…had a garage sale Sat. and there was a lady from UK, and I asked her what she thought about it. We had quite a lengthy discussion.
    Love, g

    Like

Leave a Reply

